DIY burlap gift bags

Happy Monday! 

With Christmas inching closer by the minute, I’m making sure that all the presents I already have are nicely wrapped and tucked under the tree. 

I’ve been making a few small items to gift this year and I’ve seen some really cute drawstring burlap bags in stores that looked perfect to wrap those gifts. The already made bags were pretty expensive though compared to just buying the burlap so I decided to make my own using stuff I already had at home. 

You will need some burlap, coloured thread of your choice, a needle and as an option you can also use embroidery thread to stitch some festive design at the front of your bag. 


I used already cut burlap sheets, which I cut in half to get a long strip. 


I stitched a candy cane on the front of my furure bag (but really you can stitch anything), making sure to leave enough space at the top to fold over twice in order to hide the raw edge. I did the same on the other short side of the rectangle. 


I then top stitched each of the folded short edges. Making sure I had the wrong side of the stitching facing, I sewed the sides of the bag. Finally, I turned the bag with the right side out and I threaded a cotton cord just underneath the top stitching. 

That’s it! Let me know if you try to make one of those yourself, or if you have any cool and original gift wrap go to 😊

X

8 Comments

Filed under Embroidery, Sewing, tutorial

8 responses to “DIY burlap gift bags

  1. Wonderful! So personal. I also see these as christmas ornaments for the tree! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. claire93

    that’ll be a lovely idea to save for next year because I fear time is running out for this xmas

    Liked by 1 person

If you like my posts, let me know by leaving a comment here :-)

