3D card, tea dye and online studying

Happy Wednesday you lovely bunch!

The beginning of the week has been busy to say the least! I’ve signed up for a new course on edX: Mobile Application Experiences Part 1: From a Domain to an App Idea

I’m not doing a certificate because I’m not sure I’ll actually finish all the assignments but I’m very interested in learning how to build an app and what the whole process is. Our first assignment is to do a demographic study about a particular mobile aspect we are interested in. I decided to go with photos because I take a lot of pics for blogging and I’m interested in knowing how/why people use their phones to take pictures (if you’re interested in participating, online poll link is here).

Over last weekend I decided it was time for another try at dyeing fabric. I followed Maia’s advice for a nice brown and used some tea.

IMG_3431

I really love how it turned out. I was very unsuccessful in getting a pink colour from raspberries and cherries though so I’ll need some more experimenting!

I also followed Vicky’s DIY idea of making a 3D birthday card, but instead of balloons, I decided to fold a few origami butterflies and to glue them on my card.

IMG_3432

I just LOVE it! and the person receiving the card also did! I think it’s really much nicer than just buying an impersonal card and it’s also much much cheaper (cards were 6 for $2.50 from Choice and origami paper was $2.80 for 30-ish sheets from Daiso). Needless to say I’ll be making more of those in the following months!

 

Hope you guys had a great start to you week

x

Emma

3 Comments

Filed under Embroidery, miscellaneous, Origami

3 responses to “3D card, tea dye and online studying

  1. I tea dyed some fabric a while back, and it turned out super awesome!

    That’s a bummer that your berries didn’t work out. I’ve really been wanting to experiment with some native plant dyes, I’m looking forward to seeing more (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you end up experimenting with native plants I’d love to see if it works! I would like to get more colours than yellow and brown (what I got so far!) 🙂

      Like

      • I’ll definitely do a post about it! Those are the most common natural colors though haha. I was planning on a bright yellow with oregon grape root, a reddish brown with red alder bark and experimenting with some berries. The sad thing is I have to wait for the seasons to come around ):

        Liked by 1 person

If you like my posts, let me know by leaving a comment here :-)

